The ACORN Board of Directors

ACORN is a membership-based non-profit incorporated cooperative with a ten member Board of Directors and an Executive Director.

Theresa Richards

NB, Executive Director

Brian Boates

NS, President

Brian operates Boates Farm, an orchard and u-pick operation in Woodville, NS that also creates a wonderful apple cider vinegar!

Amy Smith

PEI, Vice President

Amy runs Heartbeet Organics with her partner Verena Varga: a one-acre (with two greenhouses) intensive mixed veggie operation serving Charlottetown, PEI!

Charles Ryan

NS, Treasurer

Charles and his partner Jessy run Wysmykal Farm located on the Amherst Shore of NS, serving Amherst & Sackville, NB with a variety of mixed vegetables!

Shannon Jones

NS, Secretary

Shannon and her partner Bryan own and operate Broadfork Farm in River Hebert, NS, where they grow mixed vegetables to serve the Moncton, Dieppe and nearby restaurant markets.

Mike Lafortune


Mike brings his ranching experiencing to PEI, where he touts the many benefits of Dexter cattle: raised organically on his farm, Dexter Cattle Company

Mike Beamish


Mike Beamish runs Beamish Orchard a small organic apple orchard (500 trees) just outside of Charlottetown, PEI, where he also runs Deep Roots Distillery.

Levi Lawrence

NB, Retailer

Levi is the mastermind behind Real Food Connections: NB’s all-local grocery store!

Maurice Girouard


Maurice runs Ferme Agricole Girouard where he grows grains, beans, and pulses in Ste-Marie-de-Kent, NB.

Corinne Higdon-Ward


Corinne and her business partner Lisa run Roots Country Farm outside of St. John’s NL!


  • Susan MacKinnon, PEI Dept. of Agriculture & Forestry
  • Av Singh, Perennia
  • Terri MacPherson, NS Dept. Agriculture
  • Claude Bertheleme, NB Dept. of Agriculture, Aquaculture & Fisheries
  • Rose Halliday, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
  • Jean Lambert, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
  • Shawn Ingraham, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Jane White, Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Natural Resources